The Pressure on 20-somethings

While I think it is important to enjoy your 20s as much as possible, some people don’t realize the pressure 20-something-year-olds tend to be under.  What is this pressure, you may ask?  Well, it is the pressure of having to reach every single life milestone before your 30s.  And you wondered why turning 30 is such a nightmare for some people?

Your 20’s is when you become an adult.  This means:

1. Getting and settling into a stable career that will pay enough to make a decent living for the rest of your life.

2. Finding and getting married to the love of your life.

3. Throwing a huge, expensive wedding to celebrate a well-timed marriage to the love of your life.

4. Having babies with love of your life.

5.  Moving out of that dingy bachelor/bachelorette apartment into a decent home.

6. Becoming a homeowner.

7. Becoming a carowner.

8. Seeing all the parts of Europe you always wanted to see.

9. Going on a road trip.

10. Going on some expensive Caribbean cruise vacay to showcase how much money you earned from your stable job.

Seriously, shouldn’t we save some of the fun for other decades?

About emma

My name is Emma, and this is another blog where you will encounter my ramblings and musings about various things.
This entry was posted in Fleeting thoughts... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Pressure on 20-somethings

  1. girlseule says:

    Ahhh don’t worry about it. I’m 31 and the only things I have done on that list is go to Europe and go on a road trip! I just do my thing and try not to worry about being on a timeline too much.

  2. jspc85 says:

    Your posts are great! I’m nearing 28, and I have marked a lot of that off of my list, but it was partly because I was in the right place at the right time. Most of my friends haven’t marked anything off of this list, and that is perfectly fine! I think enjoying your 20’s is critical. If that means that in the process of enjoying your 20’s, you end up with a house, great. If not, there’s always next year. Number 4 is a big one for me. I don’t think that belongs in the 20’s timeline anymore. I think it’s better suited for the 30’s. Afterall, we’re still having fun!

    • emma says:

      Thank you very much!

      Yes, I’m mainly just focusing on making progress and enjoying the journey, rather than the goals themselves. I think a lot of people my age stress about achievements and forget to enjoy the little things.

What do you think?

