You Are Not Alone in Being Alone

Like I have mentioned before, I like sifting through the dating blogs on this site.  I read blogs by both men and women.  The most interesting thing to note is that 99% (I totally measured that) of the bloggers feel like they are the only ones who can’t find a date/partner.  They feel quite alone.

Now I understand that just because they are all alone doesn’t mean they are automatically compatible with each other.  But I can’t help but feel that this is due to a phenomenon I like to call: curing loneliness by sitting behind a computer.

Creative phrase, I know.

I am definitely guilty of this.  When you are bored and/or lonely, entertainment and stimulation are just at your fingertips.  In my first semester of college, I made the mistake of trying to combat homesickness and isolation with social networking.  Then, by the end of the year, I wondered why I didn’t make that many new friends.  My computer screen did not substitute for real friendships.

Although online dating sites are supposed to circumvent the whole social isolation thing, think about how many real life persons you are not meeting when you are scouting online potentials?  At the end of the day, there is an equal chance of crazy, I’m sure.

About emma

My name is Emma, and this is another blog where you will encounter my ramblings and musings about various things.
This entry was posted in Fleeting thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You Are Not Alone in Being Alone

  1. girlseule says:

    You make an interesting point, trying to meet someone through a computer does seem odd!

What do you think?

