Confessional: Reasons I’m a Prep

I think I might start a new category.  I was recently doused with the self-awareness the other day – by one of my lovely Colombian friends – that I am what you would describe as a “preppy girl”.  This never previously occurred to me as I am not, well, Whiteanglosaxonprotestant, but it seems I have somehow managed to slip into this category.  This is because:

1. I grew up listening to Backstreet Boys, N’Sync, and ’90’s Britney Spears.  And Hilary Duff was my role model.

2. I love reading Western classics: Jane Austen, Edith Wharton, the Bronte sisters, Oscar Wilde,…and of course, Harry Potter.

3. I just own way too many books.

4. All my outfits consist of neutral colors, sweaters, and flats.  When I was in grade school, I literally wore knee high socks, plaid skirts, and braids every day.  (I’m really surprised no one beat me up.)

5. I take academia way too seriously.

6. I drink a lot of coffee.

7. I do yoga and pilates.

8. I drink green juice, and go to farmers markets.

9. I love going to the beach.

10. I’m not able to use double negatives.  I just can’t pull it off.

Obvious reasons I’m kind of not a prep:

1. I have never gone “Greek.”

2. I don’t know shit, or give an F, about sports.

3. I wasn’t popular.  Being a Brown nerd just earns you a solitary seat at the lunch table.

4. I don’t wear any specific brands.  I just pull off the look with ordinary department store attire (ssshh!)

5. As you would probably tell by my hair, I am not Whiteanglosaxonprotestant.

6. I can actually shake my boo-tay.

I didn’t choose prep life.  Da prep life chose ME!

 

About emma

My name is Emma, and this is another blog where you will encounter my ramblings and musings about various things.
This entry was posted in Fleeting thoughts... and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?